Wickes

I really should start a consumer blog of some kind. I buy such a diverse range of goods and services including online purchases since the 90’s.

I think my first online purchase in the late 90’s was a DVD when a lot of people didn’t even have a DVD player.

I heard about a John Carpenter film called Vampires. I wanted to watch it but it was only available stateside so I ordered it from a US website that sold to the UK . My player was specially chipped to be multi region so it wasn’t a problem. I wish I could remember the name of the site. Let me know if anyone has any suggestions?

Anyway, back to Wickes. I have a sore back at the moment and simple things like standing are a challenge so I thought I would order some decking from Wickes online. This way it would already be loaded onto a trolley and save some painful work.

Within an hour as promised, we receive an email that our order is ready. We drive there and it’s waiting for us on a trolley. Excellent we think. So we check the decking and find three out out of eight planks badly damaged. The staff don’t seem bothered but we tell them we will replace the damaged ones. No apology or help from staff, then have to go and sieve through a pile of planks to find three good ones – there are lots more damaged ones. 

To get to the planks there is an automatic door leading to the garden area. It doesn’t open for us or another customer. The customer forces it open and we all go through. On the return journey, same problem, so I do my incredible hunk impersonation and force the door open making my back twinge again. Eventually back to the car, load and home. Thank you for your excellent customer service! B&Q next time. At least their door works.

Published by

pdclews

Lecturer in IT at East Berkshire College. Assessor & Verifier Technology Evangelist Hacker Tinkerer Collector of all things Retro Cyclist Kayaker Adventurer

Leave a Reply

