Install a new HDD in Server

Got a new 3TB HDD for my HP N54L Microserver as I was running out of disk space for my photos/music and films on my Plex Server.

Transferred the files off of one of the 1TB drives – no problems so far.

This left 2 further 1 TB drives and 1 3TB drive which is nearly full.

The operating system is actually split over the two 1 TB drives meaning that if either drive was removed the system would not boot so I decided that it was time to wipe both drives and reinstall Windows from scratch. More work but with the bonus of a clean system and another 1TB drive that could be replaced in the near future.

I use the server as a Plex media server so backed up the database to save me time after the reinstallation, all the album art and settings would still be there.

I needed to find my license key for the new Windows, so used a recovery tool (produkey)which worked very well.

Inserted a DVDROM with Windows Server 2012 Essentials R2 and rebooted. Installed Windows on one drive and set up the domain again. Installed SETI and then tried to install Plex again.

Plex would not install giving an error code and suggesting I needed a Windows Update. I tried to run Windows Updates but kept getting an error.

I trawled through some forums and eventually came across a post suggesting a tool called Microsoft Windows Update Diagnostic Tool. Ran this and and did all the updates.

Tried the Plex setup again and all fine. Now just putting all the media back in the correct folders for Plex.

Tested access to Plex again my inside and outside my network and all fine. Phew!

Now got 8TB space. In the near future I will put the 2 x 3TB’s as a RAID for redundancy, add another 3TB drive and perhaps replace the 1TB for a 3TB for the operating system.

Plex Media Server Setup shows an error that it requires KB2919355

https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/217100/plex-media-server-setup-shows-an-error-that-it-requires-kb2919355

forums.plex.tv
I tried to run the setup on Windows server 2012 but all I get is “Setup failed, requires KB2919355” I found that windows update has KB2919355 but it refuses to…

 

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/971058/how-do-i-reset-windows-update-components

support.microsoft.com
To automatically reset Windows Update components, run the appropriate Windows Update diagnostic, and then follow the on-screen instruction.

 

Published by

pdclews

Lecturer in IT at East Berkshire College. Assessor & Verifier Technology Evangelist Hacker Tinkerer Collector of all things Retro Cyclist Kayaker Adventurer

Leave a Reply

